5 Gluten-Free Substitutes for Popular Snacks
The Celiac Disease Foundation estimates that 1 in 100 people worldwide has celiac disease. Individuals with this autoimmune disorder experience an adverse reaction when they ingest gluten, and millions of other people try to avoid eating wheat due to an intolerance or personal preference.
You likely know someone who keeps gluten out of their diet, or maybe you’re on a journey to clean eating! If you’re on the hunt for delicious gluten-free snacks, here are some healthy substitutes to what you already love to munch on.
1. Crisp Gluten-Free Crackers
Salty, crisp crackers are a great snack to pair with cheese or eat on their own. However, the main ingredient of most crackers is wheat or gluten-based flour. A great gluten-free snack alternative is Plant Thins(™) made with a gluten-free flour blend.
We created our plant-based flour blend which is comprised of whole-grain corn, cassava root, psyllium husk, pea protein, and mushroom powder. The Plant Snacks Flour Blend is naturally vegan, gluten-free, nut-free, delivers protein, and is a good source of fiber and vitamin D. Combined with sunflower and/or safflower oil, sea salt, and rosemary extract, you have the perfect savory treat.
Pair these Plant Thins™ with your favorite dip or add them to your next charcuterie board as a snack everyone can enjoy.
2. Sweet Wheat-Free Cookies
When you think celiac-friendly snack, baked goods usually don’t come to mind. After all, Healthline highlights cakes, cookies, pastries, and muffins as foods individuals with gluten sensitivity should take extra care to avoid since the main ingredient for these treats is usually wheat.
If you want to satisfy your sweet tooth and avoid gluten, look for desserts that use wheat flour alternatives. For instance, almond flour is a great substitute for wheat and is the main ingredient in French macarons (which are naturally gluten-free). You can also find classic cookies made with wheat flour alternatives.
3. Salty Perfectly Processed Chips
Potatoes are the main ingredient of most chips, so shouldn’t they be gluten-free? While some of your favorite brands may be made without grains, many are processed with glutinous ingredients. This is especially true for flavored chips that have added seasoning.
4. Sweet Candy Without Additives
Candy is another tricky snack to navigate. Your favorite chocolate bar may be safe, but many candy bars and snacks (like crispy M&Ms and Milky Way Bars) use wheat-based additives and tons of artificial sugar.
A better way to satisfy your sugar craving is dried fruit. Made with only one ingredient, you can enjoy a sweet treat knowing there are no added components.
5. Savory Vegan Cheese
According to Healthline, full-fat, non-processed dairy products are typically gluten-free. But like with other snacks, when they are manufactured or have added flavors, wheat can be added. Always look for cheese that is not processed or try a savory snack option like Plant Snacks Cheddar Plant Thins(™) or Nacho Tortilla Chips.
Ready to stock your cabinets with more gluten-free snack alternatives? Plant Snacks has all the vegan and gluten-free treats you need. Look for a store that sells Plant Snacks near you or shop online!