How is the Plant Snacks flour blend made?

Our naturally gluten-free flour blend is a unique blend of whole grain corn flour, cassava root flour, pea protein, psyllium husk, and mushroom powder.

Whole Grain Corn Flour - the corn is first dried and then soaked and cooked in a solution of lime and water (called slaked lime). This scientific process is called nixtamalization. The slaked lime loosens the hulls from the kernels of corn and softens the corn. It also reacts with the corn to make it easier to digest.

Cassava Root Flour - While most other cassava flours are made from very large, mature roots that often have a grittiness to them, we use young, tender roots instead. This produces a significantly smoother flour texture.

Pea Protein - is made by grinding dried peas into a fine powder. The starch and fiber are removed, leaving a powdered concentrated protein substance. It is completely vegan and an ideal plant-based protein.

Psyllium Husk - is a form of fiber made from the husks of the Plantago ovata plant’s seeds. It sometimes goes by the name ispaghula. The crop is harvested in the morning after dew has dried. Mature plants are cut 15 cm above the ground and then bound. They are left to dry for a few days before thrashing. The dried husks are then ground into a fine powder for our blend.

Mushroom Powder - Mushrooms high in Vitamin D are dehydrated then ground into a fine powder then stored away from direct light to protect the Vitamin D content.

Are your products Non-GMO?

Yes - All of our chips are Non-GMO Project Verified.

Are all of your products free of the Big 9 Allergens?

Yes! We check every box. Our great taste comes free of milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soy and sesame.

How do you make your dairy-free chip flavors taste like the "real" thing?

We use a blend of yeasts, acids, spices, natural/organic flavors and sea salt to create our dairy-free seasonings. Each ingredient in our dairy-free and vegan seasonings has a specific function.

Yeast (yeast extract and nutritional yeast) – provides umami and savory notes.

Lactic Acid – adds a mild sour taste to mimic the tangy and sour notes found in dairy.

Tapioca Maltodextrin – produced from dried cassava roots, corn, or potatoes - this powder serves as the base to our seasonings.

Paprika Extract – naturally gives our dairy-free cheddar and nacho seasonings their distinctive orange color.

Natural and Organic flavors – created from plant sources, flavors intensify the taste and aroma of our seasonings.

Spices – give our seasonings body and complexity.

Sea Salt – enhances the total flavor of our chips.

Is lactic acid dairy-free and vegan?

Yes, the lactic acid found in our products is vegan and dairy-free. Our lactic acid is derived from the fermentation of cane sugar and does not contain dairy/lactose.

Does Cassava have cyanide in it? How do you ensure it is cyanide-free?

There is naturally occurring cyanide in raw cassava, and other common foods, such as apples, almonds, flax seeds, and beans. The cyanide is concentrated in the cassava peel, which is removed prior to manufacturing the cassava in our flour blend. Additionally, our supplier regularly tests flour batches for cyanide content to ensure the product is safe to enjoy worry-free.